Types of Yoga

Due to the enriching history over the centuries, yoga has evolved to various kinds.  So today we are going to talk about the types of yoga evolved over the course of a thousand years.

Types of Yoga


Let’s dive in.

Vinyasa Yoga

The word Vinyasa denotes connecting breath with the movement of the body. Vinyasa yoga can be defined as the yoga style in which the poses are interwoven together and performed in a string.

Vinyasa Yoga

In simple words, the practitioner in Vinyasa Yoga shifts from one asana to another without actually taking a pause. Furthermore, every movement during its practice is harmonized with the breath.

Moreover, Vinyasa is one of the popular styles of yoga in the present time. It is also called Vinyasa Flow due to the fluidity in the movements.  Also, Sthira (steadiness), Sukha (comfort), and Prayatna Sithila (smooth and deep breathing) are considered the standard parameters of Vinyasa yoga.

Ashtanga Yoga

The word Ashtanga consists of two Sanskrit words ashta and anga. Here, ashta means eight and anga means limb that tells us that Ashtanga Yoga is eight-limbed-yoga.

Ashtanga Yoga was compiled and classified by a renowned sage of India called Patanjali. He compiled it in the text known as Yoga Sutras hundreds of years ago.

Though all the types of yoga need practice and patience, Ashtanga is rather difficult in terms of physical strength. This style of yoga needs vigor and physical strength for its practice. Furthermore, it influences all the eight limbs instead of just one and physically conditions them to get appropriate results.

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar yoga is a type of Hatha Yoga which was developed by B.K.S Iyengar. In this type of yoga, stress is put on exactitude, alignment and every aspect in the performance of asana and pranayama. It provides steadiness, potency, and strength to the practitioner.

Iyengar Yoga

“Action is movement with intelligence. The world is filled with movement. What the world needs is more conscious movement, more action.” B.K.S. Iyengar

Furthermore, Iyengar yoga has more than 200 yoga poses and 14 types of pranayama. These yoga poses and pranayama have lots of variations that range from basic to advanced level. Thus this kind of approach facilitates students to learn and practice in a much better way.

Also, B.K.S. Iyengar has talked about Iyengar Yoga in his famous book Light on Yoga.

Bikram Yoga

This type of yoga became popular in the ’70s. Named after its founder Bikram Choudhury, Bikram yoga was created from the techniques of traditional hatha yoga. The Beginning Series classes for this yoga run around 90 minutes. Furthermore, it consists of 26 asanas and two pranayama or breathing exercises.

Since it is practiced in high-temperature surroundings with humidity (40%), it is also called hot yoga. The temperature is generally kept between 95 degrees to 108 degrees Fahrenheit.

Bikram Yoga is considered beneficial in maintaining a healthy body and highly effective in muscles pain.

Jivamukti Yoga

In the year 1984 in New York, Sharon Gannon and David Life synthesized Jivamukti yoga. This yoga is the amalgamation of hatha yoga, vinyasa style and the belief of five principles i.e. shastra, bhakti, ahimsa, nada, and dhyana.

Jivmukti Yoga

Besides, Jivamukti yoga also emphasizes on moral, physical and spiritual practice including veganism, animal rights, and ecology.

According to its co-founder Gannon, "How you treat others will determine how others treat you. How others treat you will determine how you see yourself. How you see yourself will determine who you are."

Other than that, this practice is a proprietary style and quite famous among celebrities.

Book NowEnquire Now